Happy Monday!

Today’s healthy writer tip is to drink plenty of water. Water is essential for humans to live. Water helps our body to stay hydrated, regulates our body temperatures, helps our body to absorb nutrients, and assists in removing wastes from our bodies. It is recommended you drink around 8 cups of water a day (8oz = 1 cup).

I know for me, if I don’t get enough water–migraines come on quick!

Another helpful benefit of water is that it keeps us from snack too much…hopefully. I have my own “water cup”. It’s pink with a straw, BPA Free and I fill ‘er up and sip all day. But even with that, I admit to forgetting to drink enough water, especially if I’m tired and I’d rather have coffee.  I strive for 8 cups, but on an average day it is probably more like 4-6.

For extra flavor, squeeze a slice of lemon or lime into your cup.

If you go out for drinks with friends, order a glass of water and sip as much water as you do alcohol–this will help with keeping you sober and hopefull if you indulge too much, eliminate a hangover in the morning.

How much water do you drink?

And here is a Monday’s healthy recipe…

Green bean & Tomato Salad (I could literally eat this all day…)

  • 2 lbs fresh green beans (slightly steamed–still bright green, slightly crunchy)
  • 4 hothouse tomatoes, cubed
  • 2 tbsp low-fat mayo (I like the ones made with olive oil)
  • 3 green onion stalks
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • Sea-salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl, chill in fridge for about an hour, stir and serve!

This is a great side salad, or eat it for lunch!

 

 

