Spicy Chocolate Muffins

Happy Monday!

Today I’ve been running around like a mad woman. Did my fruit/veggie shopping, went to Zumba, worked on my books, took the youngest princess to the park for an hour and then I even read for fun!

I’m munching on carrots now and doing laundry, yay! lol

I’m guest blogging today at Nice and Naughty, I’ve prepared an entertaining little post on kissing *wiggles brows*

Signing off for another marathon Monday! Homework, chores, soccer, family walk, dinner…

What’s on the menu tonight? Hubs is having salad with tuna. Kids are having salmon, rice and steamed veggies. I’m having a salad and a roasted red-pepper quinoa.

Oh, before I go, if you wanted to try them, here is the recipe for the muffins!

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 c. unbleached all-purpose flour (I like King Arthur Flour)
  • 3/4 c. organic evaporated cane juice sugar
  • 6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 mashed up banana
  • 4 tbsp water
  • 1 c. coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup non-hydrogentated, non-dairy butter — melted (I like Earth Balance)
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate mini-chips

Preheat oven to 400. Lightly grease OR put paper cups into muffin pans.  In one bowl stir together flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, cayenne pepper and salt.  In a separate bowl (or electric stand-mixer) mix the mashed banana and melted butter. Add water and milk. Slowly pour the powdered mixture into the wet, using the electric mixer. Stir in the mini-chips (you can add nuts too if you want.) Spoon the mixture into the muffin cups (makes 12). Bake for 20 minutes, or until center comes out clean with a toothpick. Let stand for about 5 minutes before putting them on wire cooling racks to cool. Enjoy!

