Tags

, , ,

Welcome back to another week of the Self-Published Interview Series! This week we have award-winning author, Jennifer Jakes!!

PUBLISHING QUESTIONS…

  • What was the deciding factor in self-publishing your book(s)? Did you decide on ebook or print only or both? 

I started with a novella……just to test the waters so to speak. I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how well a little 20,000 word story can do. Because it is a novella, I did e-book only, but I will do future novels and use the POD option for those.

  • What went into the process? Writing, editing, cover design, formatting, etc… Share your ups and downs and how you went about it. If you used a service from a someone, could you share who? 

Writing, yes. My critique partners edited for me – 1 caveat on this: My crit partners are (one) English major/College Grammar Professor and the other is a Journalism major. I say this because just because you have crit partners doesn’t mean they are capable of editing to the point of ready for publishing.  Cover Design: I used the wonderfully talented Kimberly Killion/Hot Damn Designs…..she’s the best in the biz I think. Formatting I do myself.

  • What did you do to promote your work? 

Well, at times it feels more like what haven’t I done… LOL…but really I try to be frugal with my promotion so I’ve been choosy. I blog, FaceBook, Twitter, Triberr. I’ve bought a couple of promo spots on sites and/or paid for e-blast promos which I must say I’ve had success with both. Especially the e-blasts.

  • What was the hardest thing you’ve found in the process of self-publishing? 

The time it can take to do enough promotion.

  • What was the easiest part of self-publishing? 

Writing.

  • Can you list some Pros/Cons of self-publishing? 

PRO: Control over EVERYTHING. Cover, release date, price, editing (when you pay someone to edit you don’t have to take their advice). And now, there are so many good promo companies who can help you with everything from Blog Tours to printing your bookmarks and biz cards that I don’t really think there are many CONS. OK, the fact that it’s harder to get your POD books on brick and mortar store shelves. There are still many stores who won’t do that ………Yet!!

  • How long have your book(s) been out? How long between books if you have multiple sales—and if you have multiples did you see a bump in sales with subsequent publication? 

I’m what you consider a Hybrid Author: I debuted with a small press and then self-pubbed. So as of right now I’m still working on my 2nd self pubbed. Hope to have it out this year.

  • Can you give a rough breakdown of your sales numbers from your first month to the present?

The first week or two I was selling about 1 or 2 books a day. Now I’m selling 15 to 20 per day. And I can follow the (Amazon) trail that tells me readers are then buying my small press novel after they read my novella.

  • What advice can you offer to anyone deciding to self-publish?

Make sure you have an edited – not just typos but story structure and GMC  – and then get yourself a great cover!

READER QUESTIONS…

  • What genre(s) do you write in?

Historical Western (erotic) ALTHOUGH – I love pirates too and my novella is set in 1768 pirate days. How many books do you have out? 3 Titles. Rafe’s Redemption (novel) Twice In A Lifetime (novella) Shotgun Santa (Free Read on my Website)

  • Where can readers find you?

Website: www.jenniferjakes.com

Blog: http://authorjenniferjakes.blogspot.com

  • Where can readers find your books? Print/Ebook?

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, All Romance E-Books, Smashwords

  • What works do you have coming out in the future?

Right now I’m working on another Historical Western set in 1898 Alaska during the Yukon Gold Rush.

  • There is a rumor going around that all self-pubbed books are shoddily created. What do you say to that? 

I think that from any given publishing house whether it be from NYC or your living room there are shoddy books. And there are also many gems!

