Tags

,

Welcome back to another post in the Self-Published Author Interview series. Today we have romantic fantasy author, Nancy Lee Badger.

PUBLISHING QUESTIONS…

  • What was the deciding factor in self-publishing your book(s)? Did you decide on ebook or print only or both?

I am already published with two small publishers. One does not offer a print option, and the other offers a POD via Amazon for a handful of their authors. I was still writing and submitting, but attended a workshop at my local chapter where someone I knew spoke about how to actually self-publish. I thought I would try it, so I wrote a 17,000 word short story and had it up on Amazon within 5 months.

  • What went into the process? Writing, editing, cover design, formatting, etc… Share your ups and downs and how you went about it. If you used a service from a someone, could you share who?

Writing is the easy part! I luckily had a couple of ‘friends-who-are-editors’ who helped me polish my book. Though I have an Art degree, I had neither the time, software, or know-how to make a cover. I went back to the friend who created the art for my bookmarks, and we made the cover. Formatting can be difficult as Smashwords and Amazon have their differences. I did Smashwords first because I could read their Style Guide and get hints for formatting. It was trial and error, but the next two books were much easier! I might share my bookmark & cover artist friend. Contact me.

  • Can you list some Pros/Cons of self-publishing?

Those that self-publish worry people will not consider them a ‘ real author’. It was easier to do this AFTER being published, because I obviously was good enough for a contract. Publishers have editors and cover artists on staff. I spent money for stock photos and my friend’s time to create fabulous covers. Any promotion is on my head, as I don’t have a publisher’s website, newletters, Twitter, Facebook, or Yahoo group presence. Want a review? Track down and submit your book yourself. Some friends call me the ‘Promo Queen’ because I write articles, set up interviews, Twitter, and post on my own blog and website. (Time I would rather spend writing). On royalties: one publisher sends a sales notice (and check) monthly. The other only pays every quarter. When you self-publish, you can check your sales daily. This can become addictive!

  • How long have your book(s) been out? How long between books if you have multiple sales—and if you have multiples did you see a bump in sales with subsequent publication?

My short story, Dragon In The Mist, came out August 25, 2011 won a 2012 readers Choice award and 1st Place in its category in the Silken Sands Self-Publishing STARS Contest in March 2012.  Southern Fried Dragon, a 30,000 word novella, was released February 2, 2012. My latest, My Honorable Highlander, is a 90,000 word full-length book that I plan to offer in print and was released May 17, 2012.  Yes, I noticed a bump in sales in my two earlier books. Of my five others with publishers, I have no idea until I get their sales notices (months from now)

  • What advice can you offer to anyone deciding to self-publish?

Don’t try this alone. Many others have gone this route before you and many will gladly assist you, especially if you are a fellow member of a mutual organization. MAKE YOUR BOOK SHINE! I cannot stress enough that formatting and editing is important. Once you publish your book, download it like a reader would and READ IT. It is amazing how many errors you will find. Errors can be fixed after the fact, but it is so much easier to do it right the first time.

READER QUESTIONS…

  • What genre(s) do you write in? How many books do you have out? Titles?

I have published contemporary, romantic suspense and military romance with two publishers as Nancy Lee Badger and Nancy Lennea. My self-pub books have a paranormal flavor as well as a Scottish angle. At Amazon, check out my Author Page as Nancy Lee Badger for all eight titles.

  • Where can readers find you?

www.RescuingRomance.nancyleebadger.com and http://www.nancyleebadger.blogspot.com/ and www.nancyleebadger.com I am on Twitter @NLBadger.

  • Where can readers find your books? Print/Ebook?

All my books are on Amazon in ebook form. NOOK from Barnes & Noble carries several as does All Romance eBooks and Smashwords.

  • What works do you have coming out in the future?

I am busy writing the sequel to MY HONORABLE HIGHLANDER which I titled MY BANISHED HIGHLANDER. As a volunteer at the New Hampshire Highland Games every fall, I have LOTS of ideas for continuing my ‘Highlands Through Time’ series.

  • There is a rumor going around that all self-pubbed books are shoddily created. What do you say to that?

Sadly it CAN be true. I have read some horribly formatted books with no plot, abrupt endings, or containing many grammatical errors. The best advice? Buy books by an author who-like myself-has won a contest or has lovely reviews. Word of mouth works, too. If you love a book, write a short review. This helps the author and the next reader.

