Tags

, ,

Welcome back to another exciting week! This week’s self-published author interview is with USA Today Best-selling author, Bella Andre! She is a true inspiration for many romance authors and self-published authors.

Welcome Bella!

PUBLISHING QUESTIONS…

  • What was the deciding factor in self-publishing your book(s)? Did you decide on ebook or print only or both?

Requests from my readers! For five years, I received emails and facebook requests for the sequels to Take Me and my Bad Boys of Football books.  It was a huge thrill to finally write and publish LOVE ME and GAME FOR LOVE – and I was overwhelmed by the response from my readers. Initially I only released ebooks but you can now find my Sullivan contemporary romance series in print through Amazon.

  • What went into the process? Writing, editing, cover design, formatting, etc… Share your ups and downs and how you went about it. If you used a service from a someone, could you share who?

I started by doing almost everything by myself and experienced a few tear-my-hair-out moments because I had to teach myself everything. I had to learn coding in order to make the ebooks (and must pause a moment to thank my husband for explaining a lot of it to me), and I had to learn how to use graphic design software to make the covers.  Also, every retailer had a different system for loading their books or metadata so I spent a lot of time reading through instruction manuals.

I have a group of amazing author friends who help me with beta reads but I hire many editors and proofreaders to make sure I’m publishing books of the highest possible quality. There are seven people on my production team at present.

  • What did you do to promote your work?

I have a newsletter (subscribe here: http://eepurl.com/eXj22) I send out to fans with news on my latest releases, and I also use facebook (http://facebook.com/bellaandrefans) and twitter (http://twitter.com/bellaandre) to keep in touch with readers. I love hearing about how much they love the Sullivans!

  • What was the hardest thing you’ve found in the process of self-publishing? What was the easiest part of self-publishing?

The hardest part can be keeping up with changes. Retailers are constantly upgrading their software or changing their systems so sometimes it feels like I’ll just master a process when it’ll be completely upended and I’ll have to start from scratch.

The easiest part, hands down, is writing the books. As much as I love self-publishing, I’m a writer because I love telling love stories!

  • Can you list some Pros/Cons of self-publishing?

The pros are that you can deliver your fans books much faster than you could under traditional publishing – at least that’s been my favorite part!

The con is that some of the time you’d rather spend writing is spent on book production or cover design.

  • How long have your book(s) been out? How long between books if you have multiple sales—and if you have multiples did you see a bump in sales with subsequent publication?

I have been self publishing since summer 2010 and have released seven original ebooks.

Yes, each new publication sees a bump in sales which I hope means new readers are finding and falling in love with The Sullivans!

  • Can you give a rough breakdown of your sales numbers from your first month to the present?  

I have sold more than 800,000 self-published ebooks so far!

  • What advice can you offer to anyone deciding to self-publish?

Just do it! There is a lot of information available on blogs and even digital books offering advice, but I didn’t have all the answers when I started. So much of this is learned through trial-and-error, that my best advice is just to dive on in!

READER QUESTIONS…

  • What genre(s) do you write in? How many books do you have out? Titles?

I write sexy, contemporary romances. My latest release is IF YOU WERE MINE, the fifth book in the Sullivan Family series and I’m thrilled that it hit the USA Today bestseller list a few weeks ago!

  • What do you love about the genre(s)?

There’s nothing I love more than a hero and heroine searching for their happily-ever-after. I always want it to be an emotional, sensual, joyous journey!

  • Where can readers find you?

www.BellaAndre.com

  • Where can readers find your books? Print/Ebook?

Most of my books are available in ebook at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Apple, Google, Kobo and libriaries through Overdrive. You can also order my Sullivan Family series print books through Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

  • What works do you have coming out in the future?

LET ME BE THE ONE, the sixth book in my Sullivan series, will be out this fall!

  • There is a rumor going around that all self-pubbed books are shoddily created. What do you say to that?

The digital books by authors like Barbara Freethy, Tina Folsom, and Marie Force are all very well written, edited and created. I also invest an incredible amount of time, energy and money ensuring my books are well edited, copyedited and formatted.

  • What advice can you offer readers of self-pubbed books in making a decision on what to read?

Make a decision the same way you would with a traditionally published book. Do you love the cover? Does the book description speak to you? If you sample the first chapter, are you drawn in?

Thank you so much for having me on your blog, Eliza!

You are more than welcome! Thank you so much for graciously allowing me to interview you and sharing your thoughts and experiences with us all!

