Tags

,

Welcome back to another week of the self-published interview series! This week’s guest is author, Sherri Chianti.

PUBLISHING QUESTIONS…

  • What was the deciding factor in self-publishing your book(s)? Did you decide on ebook or print only or both?

I really wanted to try self-publishing to enhance my overall writing career skills, and I chose Unveiled because I wanted to have complete control over the book of my heart. I decided on the ebook format to keep things simpler, but I may extend it to print in the future.

  • What went into the process? Writing, editing, cover design, formatting, etc… Share your ups and downs and how you went about it. If you used a service from a someone, could you share who?

I attack big projects with a list, so I created one. Then I researched all the components online and asked other authors for advice.

Editing – The manuscript has competed in contests and has been gone over by an editor. (Unfortunately, she ultimately didn’t share the same story vision I did.) I also put the book through several editing and proofreading cycles myself, so I chose not to hire a final editor.

Formatting – I researched several sources, including the free Smashwords style guide, combined the knowledge, and formatted it myself. If I didn’t have web skills, I would’ve have attempted it. The hard part was reconciling the differences I read about and wondering what was the right answer. There are a lot of gray areas you have to pioneer through. When in doubt, sometimes you just have to make a decision and get on with it. I hope to learn with experience.

Front matter – This is yet another detail that must be considered. These pages include copyright information, piracy warnings, dedications, etc. I looked at several examples and had to make decisions about copyright, ISBN numbers, and Digital Rights Management (DRM).

Cover – I’ve been using PhotoShop for a while, so I designed my own cover. I photographed a statue, experimenting with different light. I may redo it at some point because I’m not sure I’m 100% happy with it, but I can only blame myself for that!

Other – Other details include writing the blurb (back-cover copy), setting the price, deciding which Amazon royalty program to go with, and selecting tags and browse categories.

  • What did you do to promote your work?

I signed up for author pages, such as Manic Readers, requested reviews, created a book trailer, appeared on author blogs, posted excerpts on Yahoo romance loops, created an excerpt brochure, and opened a Twitter account. And I’m not done yet.

  • How long have your book(s) been out? How long between books if you have multiple sales—and if you have multiples did you see a bump in sales with subsequent publication?

I only have one book so far, which came out in late April, and I still have more marketing planned for it. I’m in the “newbie” category for sure.

READER QUESTIONS…

  • What genre(s) do you write in? How many books do you have out? Titles?

I write historical/paranormal/time-travel romances. Unveiled is a Renaissance time-travel romance.

  • What do you love about the genre(s)?

It’s hard to pin myself down to one specific genre because I love variety, but time-travel romances have always been a favorite of mine. Genres are like clothes, going in and out of fashion, so this genre has not always been popular.

There’s something magical about the concept of traveling through time, and it builds in a lot of interesting conflict. When I did my final revision of Unveiled, I decided to study the genre more thoroughly to make sure I’d captured all the important elements. I discovered I needed to add a couple and did, so I’m glad I took the time.

  • Where can readers find you?

Web Site: http://www.sherrichianti.com

Twitter: @SherriChianti

  • Where can readers find your books? Print/Ebook?

Unveiled is in Amazon Kindle format.

Amazon Buy Link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007XKRNBY

Video Trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGMako90Rcw

  • What works do you have coming out in the future?

Possible future releases include another Renaissance time-travel romance (set in France instead of Italy) and a paranormal fantasy about past lives with an Italian Renaissance feel. As my own publisher, I get to decide.

  • There is a rumor going around that all self-pubbed books are shoddily created. What do you say to that?

Don’t assume they all are. Since the barriers to entry for self-publishing are so low, the range of skill, experience, and commitment to quality will be diverse. Any author who knows how important branding is, however, will strive to put out his/her best product.

The occasional typo even appears in published books so no book is 100% perfect. If the flaws are very minor and the story is engaging, readers won’t notice. But if the quality is poor, it disrupts the reading experience and that customer is lost forever. Self-publishing is in its pioneer stage. As shared knowledge and experience improves, quality across the board can only get better.

  • What advice can you offer readers of self-pubbed books in making a decision on what to read?

-Check out romance loops and web sites. For the most part, finding self-pubbed books isn’t much different from finding pubbed books.

-The beauty of online book stores is their searching capabilities. Search for your specific niche interests, and you may be surprised to find the perfect book.

-Don’t be afraid to try new authors. To minimize the risk, read one new author per every X number of books you buy.

-Don’t assume every new self-published author is an amateur. Some of us are published authors writing under a new identity (wink!).

Sherri’ Bio

Believing characters grow the most when they’re put in new surroundings, Sherri Chianti crafts romance and women’s fiction in diverse locales.

Unveiled blurb

To graduate with honors from her art school, Leah agrees to go back in time 500 years to Renaissance Rome to earn a certificate from the moody but attractive artist Bertoldo Perini. Unfortunately, she must disguise herself as a man. Will her secret be unveiled?

 

 

