Tags

,

ImageWelcome back to another week in the self-publishing interview series! This week’s author is Michele Stegman. Thanks so much for sharing your experiences with us!

PUBLISHING QUESTIONS…

  • What was the deciding factor in self-publishing your book(s)? Did you decide on ebook or print only or both?

Because of the health of the owner, my company, Asylett Press, went out of business. She gave us all our rights back as well as the covers. I didn’t think I would find a company willing to re-publish my books so I decided to self-publish them. I did get new covers for a couple of them. It was so much fun, and so rewarding, that I decided to self-publish two short stories and an anthology of 25 authors.

  • What went into the process? Writing, editing, cover design, formatting, etc… Share your ups and downs and how you went about it. If you used a service from a someone, could you share who?

ImageBecause my first three books had already been edited and published, it was just a matter of getting them on line–I thought. But I couldn’t figure out how to convert the PDF files to word documents. Marie Force kindly converted them for me. The Smashwords guide was invaluable. My covers needed updating. A member of my local RWA chapter, Jennette Marie Powell, is a graphic artist and she offered to do new covers for me in exchange for editing her books. Jennette also designed the cover and helped with the interior design and pictures of the anthology. She did the covers for my two short stories which my daughter, Kira, edited for me.

  • Can you list some Pros/Cons of self-publishing? 

Cons:

1. You’re on your own! No support for promotion, marketing, sales.

2. You do all the work of formatting, editing, covers, etc., or hire someone to do it.

Pros:

1. You are in charge. Everything gets done your way. Covers, blurbs, the final edit, are all done to your satisfaction. No editor making changes you don’t like. No awful covers you have to put up with. No blurbs that give away the whole story.

2. You have so much freedom! There are no writers guidelines you have to follow, no word length constraints, no genre requirements or limitations.

3. Guaranteed acceptance. You are the editor in charge. You want this book “accepted for publication?” It’s accepted!

4. Waiting is cut to the bone! You don’t have to submit your book and wait for weeks or months to find out whether or not it will be accepted. The publication process moves along at a snappy pace because this book is the only one the editor (you) have to worry about!

5. You can check your sales every day. Every hour, if you want to. You don’t have to wait for a quarterly report for sales–or money.

  • What advice can you offer to anyone deciding to self-publish?

ImageMake sure your book is well edited. Maybe even by more than one person. My three books were previously edited and published. Yes, I had my daughter edit my short stories, but she is a great editor and writer, and a good critic. And one of those stories had been published previously.

READER QUESTIONS…

  • What genre(s) do you write in? How many books do you have out? Titles?

I mainly write historical romances. I do have one contemporary and a children’s short story out.

  • What do you love about the genre(s)?

I have always loved history and learning how people, especially women, lived in the past. What were their lives like? Their work? I have learned how to spin and weave, knit and tat. I live in an 1840’s log cabin. As a child I lived in a home without running water or central heat. I feel I can relate to my heroes and heroines!

  • Where can readers find you? 

http://www.michelestegman.com   Facebook and Twitter: Michele Stegman

  • Where can readers find your books? Print/Ebook?

ImageMr. Right’s Baby

http://www.amazon.com/Mr-Rights-Baby-ebook/dp/B00655TAFA/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1352222781&sr=8-1&keywords=mr.+right%27s+baby

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/102049

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mr-rights-baby-michele-stegman/1100069975

ImageFortune’s Foe

http://www.amazon.com/Fortunes-Foe-ebook/dp/B006DHZZIG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1352222848&sr=1-1&keywords=fortune%27s+foe

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/107786

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fortunes-foe-michele-stegman/1009202666?ean=2940032889243

ImageFortune’s Pride

http://www.amazon.com/Fortunes-Pride-ebook/dp/B0070B5MMS/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1352222880&sr=1-1&keywords=fortune%27s+pride

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/125316

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fortunes-pride-michele-stegman/1100070022?ean=2940033074457

  • What works do you have coming out in the future? 

ImageConquest of the Heart is the result of taking every cliche I could think of in “Conquest” books and turning it around. The hero is not a big, brash, never-defeated-in-battle bastard seeking land. He is a Saxon. One of the conquered. He has to marry a Norman to keep his land. The heroine is not a quivering maiden who has to submit to this conqueror to protect her people. She is a Norman, a ward of King William. Although I love Conquest books, myself, I wanted to make CONQUEST OF THE HEART as different as I could.

  • There is a rumor going around that all self-pubbed books are shoddily created. What do you say to that?

I’m sure there are some poorly done books out there. The ones I have downloaded and read have all been as well done as any I have gotten from publishers.

