Tags

, ,

ChristinaT bk 1 altWelcome back to another self-published interview! Today’s author is Christina Tretreault, author of contemporary romance. Enjoy!

PUBLISHING QUESTIONS…

  • What was the deciding factor in self-publishing your book(s)? Did you decide on ebook or print only or both?

I decided to self-publish my first book in The Sherbrookes of Newport Series, The Teacher’s Billionaire after it made it through 3 editors at a publisher only to have them reject it after the third editor read it.  It was disappointing to say the least.  A fellow author in my writing group was having great success with her self-published books so I decided to give it a try.  I opted to do both ebook and print, but almost all of my sales are ebook sales.

  • What went into the process? Writing, editing, cover design, formatting, etc… Share your ups and downs and how you went about it. If you used a service from a someone, could you share who?

Once I finished the book, I actually had my husband read it, then made a few changes.  Through my local writers group I got the name of a wonderful cover designer, who is also a writer, Calista Taylor.  Her covers are fantastic.  Then I put it up on Amazon. When I first released it, I thought it was perfect.  Then, I received a few emails from people saying there were some grammar mistakes and formatting mistakes.  One was actually from a woman who does editing for authors.  She had worked with one other author I was familiar with so I hired her to edit the book.  Then I hired someone to format.  I am great with computer basics but not the specialized stuff.

  • What did you do to promote your work?

It is more like a question of what haven’t I done.  Lets see for my two books I have done virtual blog tours, Goodreads giveaways, trading cards, Facebook ads, Ads on various romance sites, and Blog Hops.  I also try to help promote other authors as well.

  • What was the hardest thing you’ve found in the process of self-publishing? What was the easiest part of self-publishing? 

Perhaps the hardest part I found was getting the word out.  Once the book is available it is all up you to let readers know.  The easiest part, at least for me, was finding people to edit, format, make covers etc.

  • Can you list some Pros/Cons of self-publishing?

There are several pros and cons.  One of the best parts is that  I have complete control over my story.  There is no publisher telling me it is too long or to short.  Or telling me that it doesn’t fit with current reader interests.    I think the two biggest cons are there is a little bit of money that needs to be put up front, unless you can make your own covers and what not.  The second biggest con, I think, is sometimes people still don’t considered self-published authors the real deal.  Some organizations and other authors consider self-published authors second class citizens so to speak.

  • How long have your book(s) been out? How long between books if you have multiple sales—and if you have multiples did you see a bump in sales with subsequent publication?

Right now I am writing a series.  Book 1 titled The Teacher’s Billionaire came out in March of 2012.  I released Book 2 The Teacher’s Billionaire in September of 2012.  I am working on Book 3 right now and hope to have it out in the Spring.  Yes, I did notice a bump in sales when the second came out.  I think people like to read series books and are more likely to buy the first if they know they can get the next one right away if they so desire.

  • What advice can you offer to anyone deciding to self-publish?

Even if you think the book is perfect with absolutely no errors, hire some to edit the book before you publish.  There are plenty of good editors out there that are reasonable who you can hire.

READER QUESTIONS…

  • What genre(s) do you write in? How many books do you have out? Titles?

Right now I am writing contemporary romances that are part of a series called The Sherbrookes of Newport.  So far I have published the first two books   The first is The Teacher’s Billionaire and the second is The Billionaire Playboy.

  • What do you love about the genre(s)?

I just the love the romance genre in general.  I like having a Happily Ever After at the end.  While I am currently writing contemporary romance it is not the only type that I read.  I also love to read historical romance and paranormal romance.

  • Where can readers find you?

If readers want to find me they can visit my website or find me on Facebook, Twitter or my blog.

Website:  www.christinatetreault.com

facebook:  www.facebook.com/christinatetreaultauthor

twitter: @cgricci

Blog:  http://happilyeverafter-cgtetreault.blogspot.com/

  • Where can readers find your books? Print/Ebook?

Readers can find me books on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, KOBO, Smashwords, and AllRomance.com

  • What works do you have coming out in the future?

Right now I am working on the third book in The Sherbrookes of Newport Series.

  • Are you participating in any reader contests?

I regular take part in blog hops. Where readers can win various Giveaways.  I am doing at least 1 in December.  I am also contributing books to a  12 Days of Christmas Giveaway that several other authors are doing.

  • There is a rumor going around that all self-pubbed books are shoddily created. What do you say to that?

I would have to say that while that does happen occasional, it is not the norm.  There are NY Times bestselling authors out there now self-publishing their own books as well as debut authors getting their stories out to readers for the first time.

  • What advice can you offer readers of self-pubbed books in making a decision on what to read?

If you come across a self-pubbed book, I would first read an excerpt if one is available.  I know on amazon you can often download just a sample.  If you like that read some of the reviews, see what other people are saying about the book.  Then go from there.  I have purchased several self-published books and loved them.  At the same time I have purchased books from big name publishers and hated them.  Everyone likes something different.

Author Bio:

I wrote my first story with characters similar to those in the Sweet Valley Twins books at the age of 10 on my grandmother’s manual typewriter. As I got older my stories and characters became more mature. During my freshman year at UMass Dartmouth, I read my first romance novel and fell in love with the genre. I have been writing contemporary romance ever since.

Today I live with my husband, three beautiful daughters and two dogs in Massachusetts. Whenever I have a free moment you’ll find me either reading a romance novel or working on my most current story

The Billionaire PlayboyThe Billionaire Playboy

She’s spent her life avoiding love

Captain Charlotte “Charlie” O’Brien, a doctor in the United States Navy, returns to her home in North Salem, Massachusetts to visit her family and make an important decision about her future.  Mother Nature has other plans when a hurricane strikes, flooding the town and throwing Jake Sherbrooke in Charlie’s path.  Initially she believes Jake is nothing more than a rich playboy, but quickly, she learns that he is so much more.

The media calls him Prince Charming

Jake Sherbrooke has never been one to follow the path laid out by his parents.  That is why he started the Falmouth Foundation, a non-profit disaster relief organization rather than enter politics.  When he learns of the destruction in North Salem, he immediately travels there to offer aid and meets Charlie O’Brien.  Charlie is unlike any woman he has ever meet and he can not help but be drawn to her.

Soon neither can ignore the incredible chemistry between them. But will his reputation as a billionaire playboy damage their budding romance?

Amazon / Smashwwords / iTunes / AllRomance ebooks / B & N

For The Teacher’s Billionaire

Amazon / iTunes / NOOK / Smashwords / KOBO

 

